Friends: S11 E01- The one with the Reunion

Chandler and Monica are sitting together in Central Perk, both of them now in their late forties. Chandler is busy flipping through an old comic book while Monica is searching for a cooking recipe on her iPad.

Chandler: Wait Monica. What if comic book characters are real and are reading about us in a comic book? Hmm… food for thought, don’t you think?

Monica: Speaking of food… what do you think we should make for them at dinner tonight. I was thinking Serrano and melon salad for starters, then potato gnocchi, followed by seared skate with roasted turnips, pistachio olive brown butter and preserved Meyer lemon. Do you think it will be too much?

Chandler: (tries speaking)

Monica: Oh! And I was thinking Milk chocolate pot de creme for dessert, with almond toffee crumble and dark chocolate.

Chandler: Honey! We are all uniting after almost ten years. I think pizza and coke will be just fine.

Monica: *bumps both her fists at Chandler, twice*

Ross enters.

Ross: (In a very heavy and sad voice) HI!

Chandler: Oh My God! You still haven’t changed a bit, have ya?

Monica: Chandler! Honey! He is my brother. We all went for golf, a month back.

Chandler: Yeah! I was just practicing it for Joey.

Ross: So it is true! The big star is finally coming to meet us, huh?

Monica: Yes! I can’t believe he is a big movie star.

Chandler: Yeah! I can’t believe that The God of Godfather used to be my roommate.

Ross: That reboot sucked though!

Chandler: (Joining in) Oh yes. It sucked big time. Remember the scene where he killed the twenty one mobsters with a single shot? I mean what were they even thinking?

Monica: His accent didn’t help either. (Mimicking Joey in Italian) Pizza is a dish best served hot.

Ross: Haha! Yeah that cracked me up too. (Suddenly tones down his laughing) He made more than fifteen million dollar on that film though.

Chandler: And yet the dude still hasn’t repaid my debts.

Monica: (Sarcastically) What can you do.

Chandler: Oh! Don’t underestimate me. I’ll take it all back. With interest. Yeah. I’ll get every single penny from him. I will make HIM an offer HE can’t refuse.

Ross: Free Pizzas?

Chandler: Bang on!

Ross: (Laughs a little) So hey I heard that Pheobe’s coming too?

Monica: Yeah! I miss her a lot.

Ross: And… and… she’ll be here too then? Ra.. Rachel Green? Rachel Green not Gellar?

Monica: Ross… I know that the fourth divorce was hard for you…

Ross: Oh! Oh! If it is twice with the same person, it still counts as one.

Monica: Fine! Look I know it was hard and I know Rachel has kept her distance with all of us…. but it has been seven years, Ross. Seven years!

Chandler: Yes! The world has recovered from a recession Ross, I think you can get over your divorce.

Ross: *Bangs both his fists angrily at Chandler, twice*

Pheobe enters.

Pheobe: Oh! Oh! Hi guys!

Rest: Hey! Pheebs.

Pheobe: Oh! I am not Pheobe Buffay anymore. See after you all decided to end any form communication with me, the spirit of one of my ancestors spoke that this was due to an ancient native curse upon our family name, which a Cherokee spearman laid hundreds of years ago.

Ross: What?

Pheobe: Oh it was a long time back when my ancestor sailed with Amerigo Vespucci. So to lift the curse, I changed my name.

Chandler: I think… I think, that your new name is Regina Phalange.

Pheobe: Oh close one white boy. But it actually is Princess Consuela Bananahammock.

Chandler: White boy says- ‘Oh! My! God!’

Monica: Wait, and Mike let you change it to that name.

PCB: Oh! When you will learn to give your husband the best massages in the world, he will let you do anything you want.

Ross: So Pheobe…

PCB: It’s Princess Consuela Banahammock… with two M’s. No wonder you are still a wreck dinosaur boy.

Ross: (Making his angry face) So Princess Consuela Bananahammock… how is Mike?

PCB: It is Princess Consuela Bananahammock with two M’s first of all. And Mike is… well he is tired.

Monica: Why is that?

PCB: Oh! He spent the entire night hanging upside down. Now trust me, you don’t wanna know why. (Winks at Chandler)

Chandler: And I am assuming that he was naked.

PCB: *Bangs both her fists together at Chandler, furiously*

A Black Limo pulls up outside Central Perk. Joey enters.

Chandler: Hey big guy! How have you been?

Joey: *Takes off his dark glasses and hands it to his assistant*

Rest: Hey Joey, wow, you look amazing. It has been so long.

Joey: (In a highly disciplined and slow voice to his assistant) Take the Limo back and park it round the block. Tell Rocky and Rocco to stay put outside the gates and let no one in. No crazy fans! Okay?

Assistant runs off to follow his orders.

Joey: (With a straight and inexpressive face, as if trying to hold his feelings back) Hey guys, how are you? Hey Ross, still busy with the dinosaurs? Huh? And Pheobe, god knows I have missed you so much. And Monica, trust me, no one in Hollywood could make food like you. I have missed all those Thanksgivings. (Pauses to glance briefly at Chandler) Hey man!

Chandler: (With a sad voice) Hey!

Joey: (After a few emotional seconds) So where is Rach, hmm…? Oh, speak of the devil. Rocco let her in.

Rachel enters.

Rachel stands transfixed at the door. It was as if she had walked into the cafe in her wedding dress, the first day when she met her F.R.I.E.N.D.S

She stands there, with tears in her eyes, and slowly trots ahead to hug Monica.

Rachel: Oh my god! I can’t believe that I am crying this much. I promised myself to not cry.

Monica: (Crying buckets) ….. I know!

Rachel: Oh! Pheobe, I missed you so much. I still have Smelly Cat set as my ringtone. Oh and Chandler, I have been to Paris, Milan, Jakarta, Rio, Mumbai and Hong Kong, and I can officially say that you are the funniest buffoon alive on this planet.

Rest of them laugh a little.

Rachel: Oh! And Joey. Oh I have seen all of your movies like a hundred times. And the steamy scene you had with Angelina Jolie in Badfellas was so great. No wonder she got divorced from Brad Pitt.

Ross: Yeah! I have a feeling that you must have been very happy with the divorce of Brad Pitt.

Rachel: (Stops and stares at Ross with mixed emotions)

Ross: (Repeats the exact same emotions, though his face looked angry)

Chandler: (Trying to break the awkward silence) So Joey! Limo huh? That must be good.

Joey: (Angrily) Yeah!

Chandler: And the assistant… she looks very… fine.

Joey: (Angrily) Yeah!

Chandler: I heard they signed you up for Son of the God of the Godfather. I mean that has t….

Joey: (Interrupts) Ten years. It has been ten years since we have spoken Chandler? I mean I know that you all are my friends. Rachel writes emails to me. Pheobe makes sure to meet me whenever I am in town. Ross brought Ben and Emma over to my house. Even Monica messages me that she misses me on Thanksgiving. But you…? They were all my best friends Chandler… but you…. you were my brother (tears in his eyes).

Chandler: (Sobbing) I am sorry Joe. I really am… sorry. But with every movie you made, with every step of success that you took, I just somehow felt smaller and smaller. Soon, I didn’t have enough courage to even pick up the phone and dial your number. (Chokes) I am sorry Joey, I really… really am sorry. But seeing you in every blockbuster, in every commercial, made me somehow think that you were still there, drinking beer sitting right beside me. I was afraid that the stardom would have changed you, that you would be different……………. Holding onto the thought that you were still the same, helped me keep all the memories of the past, all of our past, alive.

Joey: (Stares at Chandler)

Chandler: (Looks at Joey with tears in his eyes)

Joey: Aww Chandler! I’ll always be there for you. (Rushes ahead and hug each other)

Monica and Princess Consuela Bananahammock joins in too.

Rachel: (Quietly looks at Ross) I’m sorry. I’m so sorry Ross. I messed it all up.

Ross: (Smiles affably at Rachel before holding her hand) It’s okay, Rach. I guess we were just on a break.

*Both laugh and join the other six as they all hug each other*

*I’ll be there for you starts playing in the background*

One thought on “Friends: S11 E01- The one with the Reunion

Leave a comment